SteamPunk

I love SteamPunk! I think it has an incredibly equalizing property that most cosplay doesn’t have.  What I mean is that when I dress up as Batgirl, no matter how much I love Barbra Gordon and how much I know about her, it never feels like it’s enough when I go to shows.  Someone will inevitably start talking to me about her and there will come a time in the conversation where I start smiling and nodding.  And I know a lot about her.  It just never feels like enough.  When I wear my Dalek dress, I will run into another Whovian who will put my knowledge to shame.  It’s not that I’m not obsessive.  Ask my friends, I am a constant fountain of weird nerdy babble, I make nerdy clothes that I can wear to the office, but I’m obsessive all over the place.

 

Unknown

Nathan Fillion as Rick Castle learning about SteamPunk in Season 3 episode Punked

This is where SteamPunk is wonderful.  SteamPunk looks cool and it doesn’t have a huge backstory I need to know to wear the clothes.  I understand the concept, steam powered engines, we never split the atom, futuristic Victorian style.  All of these things are awesome.  Also, I have yet to mean a NerdGirl who doesn’t like any excuse to wear a corset.

2 thoughts on “SteamPunk

  1. There is this myth out there that corsets are uncomfortable or even painful. Its not true. It just means someone is either laced up waaaaaay to tightly or they have a super cheap corset with no support that was made for 10 cents in China. If I could get away with wearing a corset every day without it being socially awkward and probably marking me as super eccentric or crazy, I would do it just because I love them.

  2. Pingback: Steam Punk – Fun with Fashion | As Time Goes...Buy

Leave a Reply

