Style Icons

My personal style icons are Tina Fey and the character of Bernadette on Big Bang Theory.

The first part of all of this is starts with the glasses.  Tina Fey’s glasses are iconic now but Bernadette  has a great pair too.  Similar but different.

images-1 images

Both are attention grabbers that really will get noticed.  I wear a pair that are black wire frames with blue on the inside.  They really channel Tina’s.  I’ve been wearing one like both of theirs since about 2006.  I’ve had glasses since 1st grade so there has to be something to make them interesting or else, I guess I could switch to contacts but I hate the idea of touching my eyes every morning and night.

Sweaters.  Bernadette is a master of the cardigan, Ms. Fey is more commonly seen in the pull over variety, but as Liz Lemon rocked the TGS zip up hoodie.  I realize that it seems silly to mention but how often do you see women in the media wearing clothes that are meant to keep them warm and comfy without it trying to emphasize that they are slobs?  Liz wore what she was comfortable in because she had about a hundred people on any day to organize and make sure they all got their work done.  I think it’s awesome when a character is real.  In every production house I have ever been in no one wears anything other than jeans and hoodies during the colder months.  Maybe a blazer if the clients, advertizers, or executives are coming around but anything else isn’t practical in a work place where even the bosses have to do heavy lifting.

Bernadette’s big, full, floral printed dresses and skirts are a staple of my wardrobe.  Something that gets you noticed but isn’t too loud.  Something you can wear for a walk or to the office, or out to lunch.  Perfection has been achieved.

Leave a Reply

