Day 2

DSCF5033

This is MY Cally Costume.  I should have more pictures of it on Sunday where you can see the top.

This is MY Cally Costume. I should have more pictures of it on Sunday where you can see the top.

DSCF5006

My dad, the one in the kilt- with an ood.

DSCF5011 DSCF5032 DSCF5030 DSCF5028 DSCF5001 DSCF4999

Here are some of the pictures from Day 2.  I was in a really interesting panel that brought up Cosplay does not equal consent and it’s interesting that it has become such a talking point at cons.  Not that the idea is wrong but because it is so right that it shouldn’t have to be stated and because it has to be talked about is sad.    ETouching someone without their permission is illegal in any instance.  There are so many strong female characters to dress up as but so many of them also dress in overly provocitive manors.  I don’t think there’s a problem with dressing like them,but I do think there’s a problem with the way they are created.  It also saddens me that when a company tries to move away from an over sexed character look there is an outcry from the fans to change the character back to looking that way.  Most recently, Power Girl and her lack an then reinsertion of the “boob window.”

Before

Before

After

After

2 thoughts on “Day 2

  1. This looks like so much fun! I wish I was there. I’ve only been to steampunk conventions, really need to try and make it to some others.

    Love your Cally costume. Looks so comfy and cute. Im such a BSG fangirl. One of the best shows ever!

    • Thanks. It is a really comfy costume, but really hot. It’s made of flanel so when I have it all zipped up it’s pretty hot. Something I should have considered when I was getting supplied. You really should do some of the others. I’ve really fallen in love with people watching at these events.

Leave a Reply

