Hot Topic

Hot Topic’s main game right now is pop culture.  Particularly nerdy pop culture.  There are sections of their stores devoted to super heroes and Doctor Who and anything else that gets nerds excited.  But walking into this store there is no love of the subject.  It leads to the fake nerd.  Nerds and geeks are trendy.  There is no two ways about it.  But loving the new Star Treks does not make you a nerd.  The JJ Abrams movies aren’t even make fore Star Trek fans, he’s wasn’t a Star Trek fan when he started making them.  They were awesome space story movies but after seeing them they left me missing Captains Cisco or Janeway.  I feel like having the clothes so easily accessible is awesome for nerds but when I see someone wearing something that says Police Box or is wearing a Star Wars shirt and I start nerding out to them and they give me a blank look I know it’s all over.  I do believe that everyone is a nerd, whether you are a nerd about fashion or football you are a nerd.  Fantasy sports are just Dungeon and Dragons for jocks.  But it’s like wearing a band’s teeshirt and not listening to the music.  There is something a little wrong about wearing, say a Dark Side of the Moon cover art shirt, without knowing or listening to Led Zeppelin.  I know here I am contradicting myself from a earlier post saying that one of the best parts about SteamPunk is that you don’t have to know everything about it to dress up as it.  However, I do feel as if this is different.  When I go SteamPunk I know what it is, when I wear a superhero costume I at least have a working knowledge of who they are.  But when you walk about to someone wearing a TARDIS shirt and ask if it’s bigger in the inside and they don’t know what that means, it might not be the right shirt for them.  There is nothing wrong with pop culture being nerd culture, but maybe before someone wears a Superboy shirt, they should know who Superboy is.

 

Hot-Topic-600x247603031_10151706414981979_754161574_n hottopic2new-business-hottopicThese are actually kind of cute

These are actually kind of cute

 

2 thoughts on “Hot Topic

  1. Ahem- did you mean that ironically when you said “there’s something wrong about wearing a dark side of the moon T-shirt…without listening to Led Zeppelin”? Dark side of the moon is late Pink Floyd, arguably a much greater and more interesting band than Led Zeppelin. Check out Animals, or even the Dark Side of the Moon.

Leave a Reply

