First Times

I can still remember my first convention when I was 4 years old.  It was a Star Trek Convention in Harrisburg, PA.  But it was about 20 years old when I really started getting into the convention scene.  My first cosplay that I made from scratch was a DALEK dress.  It’s silver with black for all of the details.

200px-Dalek_2010_Redesign

Kind of like that guy.  I made it for less than 15 bucks, which I thought was quite the bargain.  Even now I still do, I would just like to fix the mistakes that were made out of ignorance.

 

However, when I was in 6th grade all of my friends wanted to be cheerleaders for Halloween.  I was pretty bored with that, except Buffy Summers was a cheerleader and that’s what I was going to do.  I went for Buffy from the movie, rarely done but it was pretty awesome.  My dad put stakes inside of the pompoms that came with the costume and that’s really all I needed.  It really should have been a sign of things to come.

For the first few cons I went to I did just go for the nerdy T-shirt because that’s really just my wardrobe.  I also have dolls that I made of different scifi characters that I would carry around.  It was pretty cool so I decided I just had to get in on cosplaying.  Then once I was in it I just had to keep going.  I find making the costumes up until the minute before I leave, or even on the car ride there to be so exciting.  Will I get it done in time?  Will it be recognizable?  It’s all so much pressure, but in the best way.

 

Leave a Reply

