Heroes of Cosplay

I’ve been watching Heroes of Cosplay and I so desperately want to fall in love with it.  It seems like a great premiss.  But I just can’t get into it.  I think for me the reason for me is that some of the characters take cosplay a little too seriously for me.  My cosplay philosophy is to have a really great time, just getting to play dress up is enough for me.  I get that for some people it isn’t, but no one should be told that they can’t do anything.  I get that I don’t look like my characters, maybe it’s that I fall into the category of some days I may just be kidding myself l don’t have the body for some of the characters that I do.  But I’m ok with that.  For me it’s more important to be a character that I am really into and getting to pretend to be that person for the day. Now that being said, I can’t stop watching it.  I really enjoy watching the cast fabricate their costumes and I have been inspired with some of what they did.  Also by the last episode I do admit that there was a redeeming scene.  When the two teams were sitting around and they had “group talk” it made me even more sure that I want to be Holly’s friend.  The cast talked about how cosplay is about supporting each other and not judging.  (over the course of the show they did show Yaya and Victoria flip-flopping on the issue of is it more important to look like the character or is it important to be having fun.)

However the scene’s integrity is a bit undermined by Monika putting on sunglasses, but I don’t know if that was something she did on her own or a producer asked her to. I did connect with the 5 women from LA more than the 3 from Atlanta.  I am acutely aware of how much a producer and editing team can influence what we all see on television (I am a reality television producer by day) and I have no reason to believe that they are not the nicest women in the world on the show, but they were not shown to be that way because reality tv loves to have a villain, and Monika made a great villain. To be able to get the scene where she is yelling at her mom is wonderful.

Overall one of the nice parts of the show was that the cast was genuine.  They all loved the things they dressed as and loved dressing up.  I found it to be educational, I figured out how to do some of the things I was having trouble with on my costumes.  Just for that fact alone I would watch the next season.  I would like a couple more guys added to the main cast, specifically ones that did armor pieces more often.  I really loved Jesse’s Assassin’s Creed outfit, but it would have been super awesome to see armor being made by people who know way more than me about what they are doing when it comes to fabrication.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

