Where do you get your Nerd Gear from?

My favorite nerd apparel are, hands down, the things I’ve made myself.  I can take such pride every time I go out and someone say cute skirt, because it’s not just how I’m wearing it, it’s everything about that outfit I can take credit for.  For the clothes that I buy it’s the stuff that comes from the shirt of the day sites, it’s more directed to what I really love, which pretty much means Doctor Who, but I have some pretty cool shirts and things that I got from mass market stores that I’ve never seen anyone else wear.  For me that’s important, there can’t be too many of whatever it is that I’m wearing that I see on a regular basis (except for my shoes, I do love my Uggs)  I need to know that I’m different enough when picking my clothes.  I have some great stuff from Old Navy off of their clearance rack from the men’s section.  For me, I find the best stuff in weird places.  That’s one of the reasons that I like wearing my nerd gear. I get to be different in a way that’s not annoying and in your face but also not for everyone. I have a great shirt that says Vader for President. When people take the time to read it they usually smile and go, “well, can’t be much worse.” I think that once I decided that I was just going to wear whatever I wanted, geeky or not, it made me happier. I got to say I don’t care and do what I want and that, for me, is what nerd fashion is all about.

Leave a Reply

