Inspiration: Entrepreneurs

For the last couple of months I’ve been casting a show all about people following their dreams. It’s been really fun to get to talk to people who have such a passion for different things that I thought I could never imagine having. My boss and I were talking in a coffee shop in Atlanta about what would be our dream business that had nothing to do with working in TV. I knew mine right away. It was the idea of having classy women’s nerd clothing. I think there’s such a hole in the market right now. Don’t get me wrong, I own more graphic tees and nerdy skirts than one person really should. And I’ve seen plenty of Black Milk leggings, I own Her Universe clothes, but they’re still not sophisticated. I know that would be my concept, but I have no idea what that even means. A man can add a cool belt buckle or an awesome tie, but what do we woman have? I think an awesome nerdy pair of heels is a great start for that nerdy touch to an office. I do work in an office where I can (but technically am not allowed to) wear shorts to work when it’s hot, but I’m not really sure I could handle working anywhere that doesn’t let me let my geek flag fly. However, even in my non-traditional office there are so many things that are not ok.  My office is about 65% women, and it’s not a place where women wear teeshirts on a regular basis, but my boss doesn’t go more than 3 days without a Star Wars tee or sporting his favorite sports team.  I guess that says something more about attitudes than what specifically is going on in my office.  About 3 out of 5 day a week I wear my TeeShirt of the day hoodies to work, so I may just be saying crazy things.  Either way, I would like there to be more classic and classy nerd clothing that I could wear out.  Internet, please get on that.  Thanks.

Leave a Reply

