New Projects, New Skills

Every time I start a new project I have to learn something brand new to get it done, pretty much without fail.  Somethings have been pretty easy like learning how to work with 4 way stretch material, the real secret there for me was learning about the zigzag stitch and using correct tension, which took me a lot longer to figure out than it should have, or putting in a zipper the right way.  I think, for me, one of the reasons I have to learn something new every time I make something new, is I don’t every want to wear the same costume again.  I love my Powergirl costume, and it wasn’t even that hard to make, but the idea of wearing it again doesn’t bring me any joy.  I love making the look more than wearing it.  My brother has worn his Death Stroke costume now to 3 different cons, that’s just not for me.  I maybe should put some more time and effort into each look, but that’s less fun.  It has also helped me learn a lot more skills in a shorter amount of time than if I perfected one look for multiple cons. I think one of the most important things I’ve learned so far, is the importance of seam allowance.  I have wasted so much or had to add strips to things because I cut right along my patterns.  Bad decisions.  But I’ve learned.  And that’s really all that matters.  So, I’ll keep trying and getting bored with one costume and adding to my collection.

 

That new Batgirl is calling my name, and I’ve never made a pair of leggings before.

Leave a Reply

